New York Increases Minimum Workers’ Compensation Rates
In New York State, benefits paid to injured workers are governed by both minimum and maximum rates. Recently, Governor Hochul signed new legislation which will increase the minimum weekly compensation for those receiving Workers’ Compensation benefits. This bill was designed to protect lower wage workers who are injured on the job and unable to return to work.
The maximum rate is already adjusted each year to protect higher wage workers. However, there hasn’t been an adjustment to the minimum rate in a decade. In fact, the minimum rate has remained at $150 per week since 2013.
Beginning January 1, 2024, the minimum weekly compensation for a temporary or permanent partial disability will increase to $275. This rate will rise again on January 1, 2025, to $325 per week, and one more time on July 1, 2026, when the minimum will be increased to one-fifth of the state’s average weekly wage.
The adjustment of benefits will also protect many workers who have a lower percentage of disability but are unable to return to the job where they were injured. However, it’s important to note that his new law does not impact those currently receiving benefits.
Have questions about the new rates or a work-related injury? Call or text Segar & Sciortino at (585) 475-1100. One of our experienced Workers’ Comp attorneys can assist you, including filing a claim for benefits if you’re eligible.